0161 789 5359

Student Council

We encourage students of all ages to take an active role in the decision-making processes of the Academy and, as such, the student council consists of at least 2 committed representatives from every year group. 

The aims of Salford City Academy's student council:

  • To promote the welfare of all students;
  • To encourage student participation in all aspects of school life including enrichment, community involvement, fundraising;
  • Offer all students a forum to have their opinions heard and their views taken into account when decisions are made;
  • To play a key role as ambassadors for the Academy, supporting staff at Open Evenings, and in the local community;
  • Empower students; improve social skills, confidence, knowledge and transferable skills in a range of areas; and
  • To promote active citizenship.

The council members are as follows:

Student Council Roles Students


Jordan Walker (Head Boy)

Alethea Biesty (Head Girl)


Alexander Clarke (DeputyHeadBoy)

Charlotte Rushworth (DeputyHead Girl)

Year 11 Members

Louis Farrington, Jack Jones, Lucy Williams and Ashgan Mahyoub

Year 10 Members

Morgan Burtwistle-Smith and Hassam Shahid

Year 9 Members

Alex Vongtanaspon-Norris

Year 8 Members

Leah Warburton and Pedro Tiny

Year 7 Members

Keira Timmis and Charles Phillipson

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

United Learning